Appalachian Global Leadership Awards

Professor Scott Meister, left, Madalyn Burns and Jenny Koehn received the 2013 Global Leadership Award presented at Appalachian State University. (Photo by Marie Freeman)

The Global Leadership Awards Program is an annual award to recognize students, faculty, and staff who have made a significant contribution to advance global learning at Appalachian. This award recognizes extraordinary contributions of students, faculty and staff who have initiated, developed and/or supported opportunities for global learning. Recipients were recognized during the Appalachian Global Symposium in November 2013.

Three individuals from Appalachian State University have been recognized for their work to advance global learning. Receiving the 2013 Global Leadership Award are Jenny Koehn, Scott Meister, and Madalyn Burns. The awards were presented Nov. 20 during a ceremony on campus. The award is sponsored by the Office of International Education and Development.

“We hope these awards will become part of a new tradition at Appalachian where faculty, staff, and students share the global activities they are engaged in on and off campus,” said Dr. Jesse Lutabingwa, association vice chancellor for international programs. “I want to thank these awardees for the wonderful work that they do to enhance the work of internationalizing this campus.”

Nominations for the 2014 Appalachian Global Leadership Awards will open sometime in early September 2014. Please check back here for future updates.

Committee members (2014)

The following Appalachian faculty and staff members compose the Appalachian Global Leadership Awards committee for 2014:

  • Suzi Mills (co-chair)
  • Richard Campbell (co-chair)
  • Catherine Reddick
  • Joy James
  • Diane Waryold
  • Meg Kennedy
  • Brent James
  • Chanel Frisco
  • Jesse Pipes
  • Madalyn Burns
  • Bess Smith

For more information

For more information regarding the Appalachian Global Leadership Awards, please contact...

Dr. Suzi W. Mills
Co-chair, Appalachian Global Leadership Awards Committee
+1 (828) 262-6441

Rich Campbell
Co-chair, Appalachian Global Leadership Awards Committee
+1 (828) 262-2475